The infamous park argument

Like every couple, John and Carolyn had a spat or two, and one was unfortunately photographed by the paparazzi in February of ’96.  They were walking Friday in the park and I’m not sure what the cause of the whole thing was, but in the end, all was well.

This entry was posted in Misc., Walks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The infamous park argument

  1. Jessika says:

    The fight was in 1996, not 1995. It was a couple of months before their wedding. And according to a friend the argument was about Claudia Schiffer. Carolyn accused John of having an affair with her. He said that she didn’t even knew her, but Carolyn kept pushing and pushing and he just lost it. The paparazzi who filmed it also said that he shouted at one point: “I don’t even know her/that woman!” The pap who filmed it (Ken Katz) also said that it started after they came out of Tribeca Grill where they had lunch. Carolyn allegedly started bitching, among other things, about how cold she feels and John told her to go back to the apartment and get a jacket (John waited with Friday in front of the restaurant). After about half an hour she returned and he was angry, asking her what took her so long and then they hopped into a cab and went to Central Park. And the rest we see in the pics…

    • tmb1975 says:

      Ah, that’s interesting. After I put this entry up, I was reading one of the books I have about them and it said it had something to do with meeting Princess Diana and trying to get an interview with her for George. I wonder why they didn’t go back to the apartment and have the argument there? They had to know the paps were around, didn’t they?

      • Jessika says:

        Well, Ken Katz said that when they arrived at Central Park they had seemingly calmed down but then it erupted again. I had some really bad, heavy arguments myself with a former boyfriend (pretty much like this and worse) and you really don’t care about anything else in such a moment. You just completely loose it and you can’t see anything else anymore. And actually, I think that at one point Carolyn and John had even looked into the direction of the camera. It was when they were sitting on the bench. I think they just didn’t care at that moment. The anger was to overwhelming.

      • tmb1975 says:

        I’ve had some rather heated arguments with my husband in the past, but only one happened around his family and while they weren’t in the same room, I know they heard. Usually we just bicker if anything, like Fred and Ethel Mertz from I Love Lucy. But even then I get embarrassed and try to do it quietly or wait until we’re in the car.

        I can understand not noticing the cameras in the midst of a fight like that though. What a pain to have people following you with cameras, capturing every single thing you do, like when Carolyn picked up Friday’s dog pile. (This was in the red Prada coat.) That shot apparently brought in extra money according to that video about John fighting back against the paps.

Comments are closed.