July 16, 1996 – Funeral for Billy Way

Billy Way was a friend of John’s.  Thanks to Jessika, a new reader, I have this clip about him from Billy Noonan’s book Forever Young: My Friendship with John F. Kennedy Jr.:

“We had dinner in the living room, with a fire going, and I asked them how they met. Later, of course, there would be all sorts of speculation about that in the media. Carolyn told me that a mutual friend had introduced them. It was a guy named Billy Way,  a friend of John’s from Brown.

That’s who introduced John to Carolyn, and now I had a little fun with it: Billy Way was close to a guy named Bobby Potter, whose sister is Linda Potter, who happens to be Timmy Shriver’s wife. Since Timmy had not yet met Carolyn, when she and Kathleen left the room with the dishes, I began to tease John. “Wait until I tell Timmy that you couldn’t get your own chick and that Billy Way had to give you one of his throwaways.””

Billy had a drug problem and refused help after an attempted intervention.  He was unfortunately in a car or bus accident and was killed.

For the funeral, this dress was a rarity for Carolyn, but I did read that she wore mostly black in public to try and throw the paparazzi off, figuring if she looked the same all of the time, they wouldn’t be as interested.  It didn’t work, sadly.

This entry was posted in Formal events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to July 16, 1996 – Funeral for Billy Way

  1. Jessika says:

    Billy Way is mentioned in Billy Noonan’s book. According to Noonan, Billy Way was the one who introduced Carolyn and John. Here is the excerpt:
    “We had dinner in the living room, with a fire going, and I asked them how they met. Later, of course, there would be all sorts of speculation about that in the media. Carolyn told me that a mutual friend had introduced them. It was a guy named Billy Way, a friend of John’s from Brown.
    That’s who introduced John to Carolyn, and now I had a little fun with it: Billy Way was close to a guy named Bobby Potter, whose sister is Linda Potter, who happens to be Timmy Shriver’s wife. Since Timmy had not yet met Carolyn, when she and Kathleen left the room with the dishes, I began to tease John. “Wait until I tell Timmy that you couldn’t get your own chick and that Billy Way had to give you one of his throwaways.””
    I don’t know if it was Noonan or Rob Littell who wrote that Billy Way had a drug problem and that John and a couple of friends had an intervention with the help of Bobby Kennedy jr. (who was a heroin addict). They had packed his bags and wanted to get him into rehab. But Billy Way just got angry and stormed out.
    Eventually, a while later, Billy Way got hit by a car (or a bus and maybe while he was under the influence of drugs, I can’t remember exactly) and died and that it was John who identified the body. John was in shock afterwards and said: “This wasn’t Billy.” (or something similar, indicating that his body was badly-hit from the accident).
    P.S.: I think that the woman belongs to the funeral guests, maybe to John Perry Barlow, and that Carolyn is about to give her a kiss on the cheek.

    • tmb1975 says:

      Thank you for the information! I need to dig out my books about John and read through them a little more. Do you mind if I post the excerpt from the book in the post itself?

      • Jessika says:

        I don’t mind at all. You don’t have to ask me. Whenever I comment here on something, send a link, etc., you are free to use or share it here or elsewhere.

      • tmb1975 says:

        Thanks so much. I’m glad to have someone here who can add information to make this blog better!

        Were you on the Ultimate Carolyn blog? I think I remember you from there. If you were, do you know why they deleted it? That site was a treasure trove of articles and book clips. It’s a shame it’s gone.

      • Jessika says:

        Yes, I was on UC and on Ultimate Jackie. It’s really sad that they deleted UC. They did it because they had run out of material. Also I think they hadn’t had the time, and maybe interest, anymore. But I don’t know why they didn’t let the site stay up. Maybe it was to protect their work and material and not let it “rot” on the net.

      • tmb1975 says:

        I can see their point of view in one way, but they had watermarked the items they found on their own, so people taking them would have to post the photo/article with the watermark on it.

        I know I’m going to run out of material, but I’ll keep this blog up forever as long as there are no issues from WordPress or anyone else. Simply Carolyn was probably the best site of all time and that went down too, and it made me wonder if they were getting threats about copyrights or something.

        Anyway, I don’t mind if people save photos from here. That’s what I did with Simply Carolyn. If it keeps Carolyn’s memory alive, that’s fine by me. The only thing that bugged me was that I had a beauty blog about four years ago and made a collage of Carolyn’s looks. I stupidly didn’t watermark it and now it’s been stolen about half a dozen times. It’s always on Google images when I search under certain terms. Petty I know, but it bothered me a little.

Comments are closed.