A few undated Carolyn and John photos

I’m pretty sure the first one was their engagement photo.  I have loved that picture ever since I saw it.

The second is adorable because of how much they loved Friday.  He was a Canaan dog, but John pretended he was a mutt because he didn’t want everyone rushing out to get one without learning about the breed.

I believe the locket photo is from Carole.  It’s not in the hardcover version of her book and this looks like a screenshot from possibly an interview she did about it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A few undated Carolyn and John photos

  1. Jessika says:

    I’ve got the paperback of “What Remains” and the front cover shows the inside of the amulet. I know she said something about it somewhere (maybe in the book itself) but can’t remember it anymore. I also often wondered what the first picture is. Where was it first published? Who gave it to the press? When was it taken? Who took it? Why did they have it taken? Nobody ever mentioned this pic in their books/accounts, but is has been often said that the frames in their apartment where empty and that they nearly had no pics of themselves. Seems strange when I see all the pics that Billy Noonan and John Perry Barlow published after their deaths (like the 2nd one, which I think was taken by Barlow).

    • tmb1975 says:

      It’s a mystery where some of these came from. I have seen three other framed photos of her that appeared to be private. There was the trio of photos her stepdad carried out of their apartment after they died. Those were of them embracing and made it into a People article. The other was her surrounded by some kids, and the last was a photo she was holding onto when she went to the 1997 Inauguration. That one was never published, but it looks like she’s hugging someone. Probably one of their “friends” leaked it to the press. I’m sure those pics brought in some good money.

  2. Jessika says:

    The photo with the kids, are there two girls on it? Because if so, these are Caroline’s daughters Rose and Tatiana. If not, then I don’t know which photo you are talking about (and I need to see it! :-D) But if you are talking about the pic with Caroline’s kids, this one has been filmed standing on somebody’s cupboard or dresser or something similar. But I don’t know where it appeared and who owned it. But I am dying to know!

    • tmb1975 says:

      Yes, that’s the one! I didn’t know those were Caroline’s daughters. It seems her kids liked Carolyn quite a bit. But where did it come from? If someone took the time to photograph a photo on a dresser, you’d think they would take it out and scan it.

      I have those photos and will put them up at some point. Maybe I’ll group them in with all of the so-called “private” ones.

      • Jessika says:

        Actually, I think that this picture has been filmed while doing a story on the person who owned it. Maybe it was in Ted’s home or something and the camera just took the shot. It probably just has been done by the way and not been a big deal for the filming crew as it surely wasn’t a subject in the piece they were filming. But I really liked to know where it came from…

      • Jessika says:

        I have to correct myself: the picture of Carolyn and Caroline’s daughters was indeed published in a magazine. I just saw the page number 56 on the picture I got.
        Well, that is interesting. I’d really like to know in which context this has been published…

Comments are closed.