December 15, 1996: Another day, another newspaper, the same pestulant paparazzi

I’m sure one of the kind readers of this blog will know exactly what happened between the paparazzi and John here, because I can’t tell you as usual.  It’s embarrassing how little I know about the backstory of some of these photos.  *gulp*

UPDATE: Jessika has explained what was going on in these photos according to the book American Legacy. Thank you, Jessika!

“The person in the car is Angie Coqueran. She is the paparazzo who, along with her business partner Ken Katz, filmed and photographed Carolyn’s and John’s fight in Central Park and were paid a rumoured sum of $250,000 for the footage. These two paps were the ones who basically camped outside their apartment and they were the reason why John started photographing the paparazzi license plates, because they just wouldn’t leave, no matter what (John threatened with harassment lawsuits etc.). So one day, John saw Coqueran in her car there near their apartment again and flipped, jumped on the hood of the car and allegedly screamed repeatedly: “I’m going to get you.” He also grabbed hold of her coat through her window and I read somewhere else that he tried to get her car keys. Carolyn tried to pull John away and started crying. Then Ken Katz came (the guy in the last pics) and they confronted him, saying: “Why the hell don’t the two of you leave us alone?” Ken Katz stated that he apologized and he and Coqueran left.”

Good grief. Sometimes I have a real issue with having these photos at all, knowing that in all likelihood they were taken by a slimeball. I think what’s forgotten is that Friday was a victim too. He was clearly very distressed in these photos and I’m actually amazed at how restrained he was. My dog would most likely bite in an incident like this.

This entry was posted in Out and about, Walks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to December 15, 1996: Another day, another newspaper, the same pestulant paparazzi

  1. Jessika says:

    In the book “American Legacy” the date of this event is given by Ken Katz as “in early 1999” but that can be wrong. Anyway, the person in the car is Angie Coqueran. She is the paparazzo who, along with her business partner Ken Katz, filmed and photographed Carolyn’s and John’s fight in Central Park and were paid a rumoured sum of 250 000$ for the footage. These two paps were the ones who basically camped outside their apartment and they were the reason why John started photographing the paparazzi license plates, because they just wouldn’t leave, no matter what (John threatened with harassment lawsuits etc.). So one day, John saw Coqueran in her car there near their apartment again and flipped, jumped on the hood of the car and allegedly screamed repeatedly: “I’m going to get you.” He also grabbed hold of her coat through her window and I read somewhere else that he tried to get her car keys. Carolyn tried to pull John away and started crying. Then Ken Katz came (the guy in the last pics) and they confronted him, saying: “Why the hell don’t the two of you leave us alone?” Ken Katz stated that he apologized and he and Coqueran left. There is video footage of this event too, have you seen it?

    • tmb1975 says:

      Thank you for the explanation! I’m going to post it. I barely own any books about the Kennedys except for Forever Young, What Remains, Fairy Tale Interrupted (on my iPad) and I think American Son or whatever it was called. The only two I read completely were What Remains and RoseMarie’s book. Anecdotes about Carolyn are few and far between.

  2. Jessika says:

    In case you haven’t seen the footage: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-WrLkLV4CI
    It’s nearly at the end of the video. And your date must be the correct one as you can see in the video. There was a bit of footage in other videos about John and Carolyn too, but I can’t remember where exactly.

    • tmb1975 says:

      I did see that video at some point and completely forgot the end of it. Thanks for linking to it. I think I was more interested in the beginning because there are just a few photos of them going to the inauguration.

      I feel guilty sometimes for posting these photos because they hated those paparazzi and most of the photos I have came from them. I don’t get why the paps can’t stand back at a respectful distance and use telephoto lenses. They’re even worse nowadays with the many celeb gossip blogs out there that buy images from Wenn, X17 and TMZ.

  3. Jessika says:

    Although, I just saw that there is a black guy on the driver’s side, who has a video camera. Well, in the video you see and they say it’s Angie Coqueran and I read the story a couple of times in diffferent sources and they all say the same. I guess the guy was probably with her in the car and was supposed to videotape (probably sitting on the passenger’s side while Angie is driving, directing, whatever) and because of John’s behaviour they switched seats so that the guy can get out on the driver’s side and film John directly without having to go around the car…

Comments are closed.