Another RoseMarie/Carolyn comparison

I made this little side-by-side shot to show how much influence Carolyn had on RoseMarie’s style.  You can definitely see it in these two photos.  Add a jacket on Carolyn and the two outfits would be very similar.

This entry was posted in Collages and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Another RoseMarie/Carolyn comparison

  1. Socalnocalgal says:

    I remember buying a Calvin Klein dress really similar to Carolyn’s after seeing this picture. I loved it as casual summerwear (yup, daytime too). I even had a knockoff nylon Prada backpack/satchel (remember those!). But at the time I don’t think I realized how much influence she had over my personal style preferences. …And I certainly never imagined it would stick!

    • tmb1975 says:

      I wish I took a cue from her style. From 1995-1999, I was in my early 20s and had no clue how to dress for a cube job. I wanted to wear Jones NY like the stylish VP of HR, but couldn’t afford it. So I remember buying these goofy colored blazers from Chadwick’s (I think?) catalog. They were *so* cheaply made it wasn’t even funny. Another thing were palazzo pants. I had some with hideous floral patterns. In the spring of ’99, I finally got it together and picked up some really nice pieces and my co-worker said, “Now that’s how you should always dress!” I don’t think it was Carolyn’s influence yet, but I know after she passed away, I began taking cues from her!

  2. Socalnocalgal says:

    Palazzo pants!! Hahaha! I love your honesty. 🙂
    I did my floral pattern damage through babydoll dresses. Remember them? Aside from that I’ll keep mum about my additional fashion faux pas’ for now. 😉

    • tmb1975 says:

      Oh yes, I remember the dresses! I dodged that bullet thankfully. But I don’t know – maybe palazzos are worse than babydoll dresses.

      I grew up in the 80s and 90s, so there were a lot of faux pas (can that be plural?) going on. I still love neon, although I only wear it on my nails!

  3. Jessika says:

    Is RoseMarie wearing a dress or is it a top with skirt? It’s hard for me to tell, because the fabric is flat on her belly area. If it is a dress, then check what Carolyn wore to the event for George Magazine’s 5th anniversary in November 1997. I don’t know when the pic of RoseMarie has been taken, but it looks like the exact same dress to me. What do you think?

    • tmb1975 says:

      It does look like a top and skirt, but it could be bunched around her waist. I don’t know how Carolyn’s dresses could fit her because there seems to be a significant height difference. That would account for how much lower it is on RoseMarie though. It’s past her knees. Plus there’s that little silvery thing around the neckline. Carolyn’s didn’t have that.

      • Jessika says:

        The silvery thing looks like a necklace to me. If you straighten the ruffles around RoseMarie’s waist, the dress is even longer. So it would fit. It’s just that it looks exactly the same. I can’t imagine RoseMarie buying the exact same thing for herself (that would be a little too strange and I think she knew better than that), but rather getting it (maybe just borrowed) from Carolyn. Maybe it was one of the occasions where Carolyn threw her closet open and told her to choose something to wear for the event…

      • tmb1975 says:

        You’re probably right. Psst…don’t tell anyone, but that was my least favorite dress of all time. It didn’t have much shape or really anything going for it. Maybe if I saw it without the jacket I’d have a different opinion.

  4. Jessika says:

    Of course I will never tell anyone! It stays between us. 😉
    I liked the look as a whole, but I’m not sure if I would have liked the dress on it’s own and without Carolyn in it.
    My least favorite was the famous “clown outfit” (it was from Yoji Yamamoto I think) she wore at the Newman’s Own/George Awards. I don’t know, it just looked weird and ill fitting and if anyone else than Carolyn would have worn that I would have suggested to fire the stylist! 😀

    • tmb1975 says:

      I remember reading something in a magazine to the effect of “What happened to the fashion icons?” after the Newman event. I never warmed to the Yohji outfit. For awhile I thought I was coming around to it, but it’s just not her. She wasn’t a frilly woman. The only other outfit I didn’t care for was the Yohji gray coat she wore to the Krizia exhibition. Everything else was marvelous.

  5. Jessika says:

    God, I spelled Yohji wrong. Well, Carolyn tried something new and it didn’t quite work. Even she had fashion faux-pas. How comforting! 😀 But I loved how happy she seemed on that day and that always reconciles me with the outfit. 😉
    Ok, we differ on that, because I loved the outfit she wore to the Krizia exhibition. I loved the whole look, the hair, everything. I don’t know why and I would surely look horrible in it, but on Carolyn I found it great. It’s actually one of my absolute favorites! (Although I never understood the beige fabric on the inside of the coat, but it gave it a twist, I suppose.)

    • tmb1975 says:

      That was one of the few times where she seemed happy all night. Her smile was just infectious. I think maybe she was giddy because she was about to meet Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward!

      I loved the hair, makeup and shoes for the Krizia event, but the coat just didn’t do it for me. That Yohji dress she wore to the Grand Central event was jaw dropping. I still wish we had a good view of the back, because I think it was tied like an obi from a geisha’s kimono.

  6. Julia says:

    I always loved the “Krizia” Outfit and i wish there would be more existing photos from this event.

    • tmb1975 says:

      I have pictures from the Krizia and they will be coming up once I get to 1999. 🙂 There are quite a few of her in that gray jacket. I think you’re on the Facebook page, right? If you are, click on the photos and take a look at them there. All of the photos are uploaded onto the FB page. I decided to do a blog too just to make it easier to access the pictures. FB is kind of slow!

Comments are closed.