Information and ideas about Carolyn’s Beauty Favorites

I had some time today to pull out some of Carolyn’s favorite products (and a few of my own additions) that I have in my makeup stash, and decided to take some photos and swatches for you all.

Carolyn almost always went with a red lip and sometimes a wash of Bobbi Brown Bone shadow on her lid.  It looks like she had really long, dark lashes naturally and didn’t always use mascara because they appeared to be pretty straight most of the time. Her skin was naturally luminous and I never thought she wore blush of any kind either.

Not all of us have such lush lashes or glowing skin, so sometimes we need a little help in that department. 😉

I’ve put together a list of products that includes some of the ones she used and my own recommendations.  I don’t own Bobbi’s Bone shadow, so I tried to replace it with something similar.

First off, I think if Carolyn ever did line her eyes, she tightlined.  Tightlining is explained  here.

To do tightlining, you can use a gel eyeliner in a pot like MAC’s Fluidline in Blacktrack or Laura Mercier’s Tightline Cake Liner in Black Ebony.  I don’t have either as I usually prefer pencils, so I use Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Perversion, which is a deep matte black that stays on pretty well.

If Carolyn did anything to the upper lid, it was barely noticeable.  If you need a little extra oomph to achieve that lush dark lashes look, I’d suggest drawing a super fine line above the lid.  It needs to be barely there, but enough to enhance the eye a bit.

The liquid liners I like are Hourglass’s Script Precision Liquid Liner (although this one is not waterproof), or K-Palette Tattoo Real Lasting Eyeliner (this is a Japanese brand and is completely waterproof – I order from the imomoko.com website, and they are very reliable.  They ship to the US and my packages always arrive quickly.  I think they’re based in the US, actually.)

And for lashes, the Shu Uemura lash curler is so far the best I’ve tried (out of Shiseido, Kevyn Aucoin, Anna Sui and a few others).  My favorite mascara is Kiss Me Heroine Make Long & Curl (also another Japanese product that you can purchase from imomoko.com).  All you need to remove it is to apply warm water to your lashes, make sure they’re thoroughly wet, and then carefully wipe off the fibers.  This is a “tubing” mascara.  It also lasts forever without flaking.

For the eyes, a sheer wash of a shimmery beige will brighten them up.  I have to try Bone one of these days, but until I do, I like Le Metier de Beaute’s Sugar shadow.  It’s finely milled and goes on smoothly.

To give cheeks a little glow and some added color, Benefit’s Sugarbomb blush/highlighter is so natural that it doesn’t even look like you’re wearing anything.  It’s a breeze to apply and you really can’t go wrong with it.  If you’re looking for a lot of color, try a regular blusher, because this tends to be much sheerer.

And finally, the lips! Carolyn wore Face Stockholm’s Cranberry Veil (the most versatile lipstick I’ve ever used), Bobbi Brown’s Ruby Stain (which was re-named Ruby Sheer and then discontinued) and MAC’s Russian Red.  You can see in the photos the varying intensity of the colors.

I have the first two lipsticks and one other (Bobbi Brown Treatment Lip Shine in Rosy) that is a fairly close match to Ruby Stain if applied very lightly and maybe topped with a clear balm or gloss.

To give your lips extra precision, a neutral liner like MAC’s Spice works well.  It seems to blend well into my lipstick even though it’s not red, but there are lighter options too.

And finally, the polish she wore on her toes for her wedding was Face Stockholm’s polish in #9.  It’s got a beautiful pinkish-purple iridescence that looks nice on its own and even better layered on top of a darker polish.  As of today, I can’t find it on their site and am thinking they discontinued it.  I’ll email them to find out.  Crud.  It is an easily dupe-able shade though.

Do you have any products you use to achieve the “Carolyn face”?

This entry was posted in Makeup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Information and ideas about Carolyn’s Beauty Favorites

  1. Jessika says:

    Thank you so much for this.
    Well, I have to admit that I have never been a makeup buff. When I was underaged (under 18 here in Germany) I wasn’t allowed to use any makeup and never longed for it to be honest. I only started in my mid-twenties to use a little here and there. And although I’m not using much of makeup, I love to read about it and look at it.
    I love, on myself, a natural look, like Carolyn had. Also I find that too much make up would take my freedom. That may sound weird, but with a whole face covered in makeup I just couldn’t walk in the rain or just touch my face or jump into a lake. Do you know what I mean? 😀
    Anyway, I use Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer in Porcelain (or By Terry’s Touche Veloutée Highlighting Concealer in Porcelain, but that’s new and I use it rarely as it is quite expensive) and then just a little Mac Studio Fix Powder in NW15.
    When I use blush, I use a creme rouge by a German natural cosmetics drugstore brand called Alverde, which is of great quality and really cheap. The shade is called Nordic Rose. I use the cream blush with a brush, never with my fingers. I like that the shade is not too pinkish or too rosy on me, which I don’t like as I find it too romantic looking, which isn’t my thing and which doesn’t fit me at all. But often I don’t need blush as I have a natural blush on my cheeks because my very pale skin is so thin on my cheeks bones.
    Also my lips are unusual fleshy red for my skin color. For the most part I don’t like it because I have a hard time finding lipsticks that have enough cover. That means that I can’t use any pale rosy lipsticks or glosses when I feel like it and and can only use formulas that cover well because my original lip color otherwise always shines through.
    I have a couple of lip sticks (and a few glosses and lip creames) though, mostly in berry or antique pink shades. I use Chanel Rouge Allure Laque in #78 Phoenix, Chanel Rouge Coco in #11 Légende and #39 Paradis, Dior Serum de Rouge in #560 Radiant Pink, but wouldn’t die for any of them. They are good but not perfect for me. On me they look nothing like the swatches on the internet. They are always darker, because of my natural lip tone. The red shades that I own are Estee Lauder Pure Color Lip Stick in #41 Wild Fire (which is actually more coral, deep orange) and Chanel Rouge Allure Velvet #38 La Fascinante, for which I got a lot of compliments by strangers but find it a little too dark on me and too drying on my lips.
    Mostly I use L’Oreal Studio Secrets Universal Lip Glow, a lip stick that has a transparent, watery rose color and changes it’s color on your lips, self-adjusting to your lip tone. It works great for me. I use it like a lip balm and it gives my lip a great and somehow natural looking, deep berry tone. But it works different for everyone. I saw swatches that were pale pink or neon rose, always depending on the original lip color of the wearer.
    Also I have to add that it is quite a task to get your hands on good makeup. I can’t just go into a store and try something form Mac or Bobbi Brown or Laura Mercier or whatever. There are just 1 or two stores in the whole city (and I’m from Berlin) who got these brands and these stores are located in very posh areas. That would mean an 30-minutes train ride at least, plus the annoying up-and-down-looks of the saleswomen who think that they are the hight of female evolution. And of course these stores don’t have everything the brand offers, just the items that are available for the German market, which mostly isn’t much. Also we are limited when it comes to shades. Most brands don’t make all their shades available in all countries. In terms of makeup that is especially hard when you have a pale skin like me. Nearly everything is too dark for me, which I don’t get as we Germans aren’t really the tan people. 😉 The Mac Studio Fix is the only choice I have here, because of their variety of shades. It’s the only one that matches my skin tone.
    So, this is quite a massive comment but now you know it all! 😀

    • tmb1975 says:

      I enjoyed reading what you use! I like to get German shampoos and soaps once in awhile from this website that imports them, and I love German Nivea. Here in the US, we have Nivea in the blue tins that looks like the kind in Germany, but it’s made in Mexico and has a watery consistency. The German kind is rich and creamy like La Mer. It’s actually been compared to La Mer as far as effectiveness goes (not sure about that as I don’t use La Mer products). I try to buy products that do not use parabens as preservatives and it makes it difficult. Fortunately I’ve been able to mostly work around it (except that you will have to rip my Kerastase conditioner from my cold dead hands!!).

      My favorite look is to do spot concealing rather than a full face of foundation, a dab of powder to keep the oil away but not enough to give you a chalky appearance, a bit of blush with a dab of highlighter, and I either wear a strong lip color with minimal makeup on the eye, or a neutral lip color with a colorful eye. It’s all about balance.

      I’ve been a makeup junkie since about age 13! My mom would let me wear a little bit, and my friend and I would go to the drugstore and drool over everything! 😉

Comments are closed.