May 1997 – In Italy

When I first saw these photos a few years ago, I thought for sure the first one was Gwyneth Paltrow and not Carolyn.  Everything was different! The shirt, the sunglasses, the bag and the suede sandals all had me convinced it wasn’t her.  Then I saw the close-up and was surprised that it was indeed her.

I would have loved to see what the shirt looked like.  From what little of it that you can see, it looks like it had a bit of a 70s vibe.

What do you all think? Do you prefer these sunglasses, jacket and shoes to what we were used to seeing her in?

This entry was posted in Vacations/trips/travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to May 1997 – In Italy

  1. Jessika says:

    You know what strikes me the most about this pic? That everything Carolyn has on her, the shoes, the jacket, the shirt, the sunglasses, the bag, all of these things I have never seen on her in any other pic. Have you? The jeans maybe (or certainly), but everything else is like she wore it only once (and then in combination). Strange, don’t you think?

  2. Jessika says:

    And btw, I love this style and the complete combination. I think it’s refreshing to see her in something a bit different. It’s not that I prefer one style over the other, it’s the change and variation of styles that appeals to me.

    • tmb1975 says:

      I think it is strange that we never saw any of this again. The shirt, shoes, the bag, sunglasses – they all just disappeared. Maybe it was her traveling attire.

      Or she gave it away. I was reading a bit of Rob Littell’s book last night and read that she gave things to Frannie (his wife) too. It sounds like she was incredibly generous with everyone she was close to.

  3. Julia says:

    I cant believe that she was wearing a leather bag only one time. Do you think the bag is also a birkin?

    • tmb1975 says:

      I don’t know – it looks kind of big, more like a tote bag. I know she had a huge black Birkin, but even that wasn’t as big as this. Does Hermes make tote bags?

Comments are closed.