1997 – Vanity Fair spread

I read that John asked Bruce Weber to take these photos of Carolyn.  Whether that’s true or not, these are some of the best ones out there, because she seems genuinely happy.  She’s not in front of a paparazzi’s camera, but a talented photographer’s.

Once again, I’m amazed at Friday’s behavior.  He is lying there calmly while she has a bird perched on her hand.  He’s letting her pull his mouth into a smile and kiss him on the lips.  And hold him like a baby? What is this lunacy?! They must have gotten a robotic dog from Japan! Anyway, I had a dog who was this sweet when I was a child and never again have I had such an easy pup.  My dearly departed Zeus was a very high maintenance Catahoula Leopard Dog who hated everyone but us and my current dog Stewie is full of behavioral oddities.

And I swear somewhere I read about someone describing this photo shoot and they were touched by the photo of her leaning out of the car to speak into the intercom and Friday had a “protective paw on her back”.  I wish I could remember where I read that, but it was so touching.

Ahem, sorry to get off track there.  The third close-up of Carolyn’s face is super high quality.  I scanned it in to jumbo size.

This entry was posted in Modeling, Professional photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 1997 – Vanity Fair spread

  1. Jessika says:

    Just wonderful.
    Is that her engagement ring she’s looking at in the fourth pic? Because she doesn’t wear it in any of the pics…
    I read that the pics were for John, but can’t remember where. I also read where exactly they’ve been taken, but can’t remember that too. Bad memory. 😦

  2. elaine says:

    didn’t John & Carolyn have a german shepard? i thought i saw them with one.

    • tmb1975 says:

      Yes, John had a German Shepherd named Sam when he was first dating Carolyn. According to RoseMarie’s book, the dog was “unstable” and someone at George was rolling around on the floor playing with him and was bitten. I’m not sure what happened to him. I’ve heard he was put down and also heard he was given to someone else.

  3. elaine says:

    i hope the dog wasn’t put down for that. if it’s not your dog you shouldn’t be rolling around on the floor with it. i wouldn’t do something like that with my friend’s pet.

    • tmb1975 says:

      I would certainly hope not. I believe he was a rescue, so he probably had a rough time of it at some point in his life and needed training. Plus the trainer teaches you as well. I grew up with a very patient dog, but my rescues haven’t been that way, unfortunately. My trainer instructed me on how to read their body language and it’s been really helpful. Rolling on the floor next to a dog you don’t know well is idiotic.

Comments are closed.