September 1997 – Delancey restaurant in San Francisco

This event was for the Delancey Street Foundation, which assists people who are down on their luck and runs a restaurant to help support their operation.  You can read more about it here.

I think this is a Yamamoto suit she is wearing.  Unfortunately there aren’t many HQ photos in this set, but a couple of the black and white photos can be expanded to a larger size.

 

 

This entry was posted in Formal events, Vacations/trips/travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to September 1997 – Delancey restaurant in San Francisco

  1. Jessika says:

    Good God, I absolutely LOVE this outfit. I know I say that often, but this one is definitely in my Top 3 (with the Krizia outfit and the 3rd I’d have to think about, can’t decide).
    I read somewhere, somewhen (my memory…) that John constantly fumbled on the collar of Carolyn’s jacket. He wanted to make it straight and Carolyn finally had to tell him that it has to be like that, that this is wanted, the design. Men. 😀

    • tmb1975 says:

      The pattern almost looks like houndstooth to me, but I can’t quite tell. It was a different look for her.

      That’s hilarious about the collar and John!

  2. Julia says:

    This look was very polished and sophisticated. I looks a little bit like Tippi Hedrens or Kim Novaks outfits in the Hitchcock Movies, but in a clean and modern way.
    Her top underneath the blazer could be the same as here:
    https://rememberingcbk.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/october-23-1996-walking-on-varick-st/

  3. katja says:

    i love that outfit too.
    i can´t believe that rosemarie dyed her hair blonde.
    what was she thinking?i think it´s weird that she somehow became a carolyn-clone over the years.

    • Jessika says:

      Well, according to RoseMarie herself it was Carolyn who transformed her (took her to Brad Johns, bought her clothes). Carole Radziwill also wrote similar things, and other friends said that she used to give her clothes to them/their wives.
      I also just read that Carolyn gave samples of the perfume she was wearing to many friends without being asked for it. So maybe she wasn’t innocent in this. 😉
      What would we do if we’d have a friend like that?
      Anyway, RoseMarie seemingly has gone back to “normal” now. To me it’s a crime when woman with mediterranean or latin (or asian or black for that matter) looks/complexion try to go blonde. They really should embrace and cherish their dark, exotic vibes.

  4. Julia says:

    Oh, i didn´t even recognize Rosy on the pics 😀

    • tmb1975 says:

      I didn’t know it was her either. I like her better as a brunette. According to the book, Carolyn took her to Brad Johns, so I don’t know if this was his work or someone else’s, because eventually Carolyn left Brad since he couldn’t keep his mouth closed about her.

Comments are closed.