MAC Ruffian Red lipstick review and swatches

Yesterday my MAC Ruffian Red lipstick arrived.  If anyone is just tuning in, the designer Ruffian’s 2009 fall collection featured hair and makeup that was inspired by Carolyn.  MAC created a special lipstick for the show called Ruffian Red, and only 500 were created and handed out to those who attended the show.  You can read my previous post about the lipstick here.

Fast forward to June of 2012 and MAC brought Ruffian Red to the masses! I can safely say that if you love red lipstick, you’ll want this one for your collection.  Based on press photos, it looked as if it would be more of a blue-red, but when I received my tube and swatched it on my hand, it was definitely a tomato red.

It’s a matte formula so it tends to be drier and you may want to wear some lip balm underneath it or over it for a sheerer look or just for the added moisture.  For the shot of it on my lips, I really slathered on the lip balm and then tissued it off before applying it.

Also, as an FYI, my skin tone is a bit lighter than the Ruffian model who is featured at the end of the gallery.  (Yes, I’m a ghost!)

As of now, it’s still available on MAC’s site along with two other lipstick shades and press-on nails, which I didn’t purchase.  Ruffian Red is $14.50 USD.

This entry was posted in Makeup, Misc. and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.