America’s Prince: The John F. Kennedy Jr. story

I figured I’d do a light post today since it’s July 4th and most people will be out celebrating here in the US.  Happy Independence Day to those who celebrate!

Anyway, did anyone see this movie? I remember watching it when it first came out and thinking it was OK, but after reading some books about them and re-watching clips of the movie on YouTube, realized a lot of it was reminiscent of a Lifetime movie.  It just felt a little “budget,” if you know what I mean.

As far as I know, it’s not available on DVD unless you buy an illegally ripped copy from ebay.

Here are the clips:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2weRWmMY-gQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JinNai7sE28

I found this photo of Portia de Rossi as Carolyn and was struck by how the wardrobe people didn’t really do such a great job with coming up with a clone of the Gaultier clamshell necklace Carolyn wore to the 1999 Correspondents’ Dinner.

I do love Portia, though.  She’s an excellent actress and has great comedic ability.  She actually did meet Carolyn once at the very same Correspondents’ Dinner.  The story went like this:

“I was at a White House correspondents dinner and happily minding my own business,” de Rossi recalls, “and I felt a very sharp tug on my ponytail. I turned around and Carolyn Bessette was standing there with a big grin on her face. She said to me, `What? Are you trying to look like me?'”

That sounds just like Carolyn, doesn’t it? 😉

Here are photos to compare the original and the movie version.  I wish they’d do a miniseries about them or even a big screen picture.  I’d be the first in line to see it as long as it wasn’t based on a book full of lies.

This entry was posted in Articles, Formal events, Misc. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to America’s Prince: The John F. Kennedy Jr. story

  1. I think I may have partially caught a re-run years ago, but I guess I’ll have to try to get my hands on it somehow.

  2. Jaqui says:

    I did see clips of it, and it was a bit underdone…. : (
    I was hoping for a movie myself, but I would want it to be perfect as well.

Comments are closed.