October 5, 1998 – Grand Central Terminal Part 3 of 3

And these are the stills, some photos from articles and a few articles…

This entry was posted in Family, Formal events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to October 5, 1998 – Grand Central Terminal Part 3 of 3

  1. Anne says:

    Carolyn would have made a good model…she had a versitile look feature-wise. I wonder why she never modeled professionally.

    This dress is not one of my favorites but paired with the long gloves, she looks very elegant. I think I would have liked the dress better if it were a dark navy color, but we all know Carolyn looked unbelievable in black. Caroline looks very pretty here too.

    • tmb1975 says:

      I read she didn’t pursue modeling because she wasn’t that interested in it. I also read another account that she didn’t photograph well and was far more beautiful in real life than in photos, which I can’t even imagine!

      I liked this dress once I saw the side view of it and could see the Japanese-style Obi in back. Before that, I had only seen photos from the front and thought it was kind of basic. John was fascinated with the back of it too because he told someone, “Wait until you see the back!” I think Carolyn’s bracelet was Jackie’s, BTW.

  2. Anne says:

    I don’t photograph well, so I can relate. Carolyn looked great in everything she wore but I don’t like the tube-top look of the dress. Maybe it is the way it is photographed.

    Do you know anything about her penchant for wearing gloves? I haven’t seen anyone wear gloves, except maybe royalty, since the 60’s. I wish more would wear them as it seems like a lost art.

    • tmb1975 says:

      A lot of the photos are HQ in the first and second posts from this event and you can open them up and zoom in and you’ll see the texture of the dress and the band around the waist made it look a little extra special. I think this is one of those things that pictures don’t do justice to, you know?

      Let’s see, I don’t really know anything about why she chose gloves, but they certainly made the outfit that much more spectacular. The only other time she wore them that I can recall is the White House dinner for Tony Blair, which was very formal. I think the crushed velvet gloves with this dress provided the perfect backdrop for the bracelet she was wearing and they really took everything up a notch.

Comments are closed.