Time Magazine articles after their deaths

These are my last articles, and they are somber and the second one is maybe even morbid, but I did find them interesting enough that I thought some of you may want to read them since I haven’t seen them online.

The second article focuses on their last day and be forewarned – it is sad and rather disturbing to read how it all happened.  I wanted to know what went wrong that night.  They flew into haze and he lost his bearings, but I wanted a more technical answer and this article provided that.

So, if you’d rather not read about their deaths, I’d skip these altogether.

This entry was posted in Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time Magazine articles after their deaths

  1. anne says:

    Am I the only one who doesn’t feel a strong sense of closure regarding their deaths?

    • tmb1975 says:

      No, I don’t think you’re the only one. I never understood the burial at sea. Carolyn and Lauren’s mom reportedly regretted it because she has nowhere to go to mourn them. There was some rumor going around that it was done quickly so no autopsy results would be made public, but I don’t know how true it is. Either way, it sounds like Ann Freeman didn’t have much time to consider what happened to Carolyn and Lauren’s remains and that’s wrong. It seems like Ted and Caroline just ran the whole show.

  2. I thought I was the only one who didn’t feel closure! There are too many unanswered questions about that day, the crash and their burial.

    I’m not implying there is a conspiracy or anything OTT, I just feel like we aren’t being given the full story. Some may argue we aren’t entitled to it as they were private citizens.

    • tmb1975 says:

      If I had more of an attention span, I’d seek out the NTSB reports and read them. I’m sure they’re out there somewhere and could be figured out with a little Googling. I think all that ever came out of the investigations was pilot error, however. We’ll never know for sure.

  3. anne says:

    That is a shame that Carolyn’s mother reportedly regrets the burial at sea. I am sure it must be so difficult to not have a specific place to go and mourn. Maybe they can set up a memorial in their town so they have a place to visit.

    I’ve read a few interesting things online about the crash and it does seem that there are multiple stories out there which leads me to believe there is more to the story than we know.

    • tmb1975 says:

      I’ve read and seen some things that have left me wondering too. He had been flying with an instructor and wouldn’t he have been especially careful to take one up with him since it was a new aircraft and he had just gotten the cast off? I think some weather reports had reported haze, so he might have known it would be something he’d have to deal with. I heard that Anne and her husband bought their current house because it’s near the water and she can feel close to her daughters there. At least that’s what I read. 😦

Comments are closed.